From Harlem, New York City, NY
Ponderosa House
Fourth trimester student

A Typical Tuesday

  • 5-6am: Wake up
  • 7:15-7:45am: I have morning exercise with Anna. I learned how to swim my 1st trimester, now I have swimming for morning exercise.
  • 8:00am: I go to breakfast and eat as fast as I can so I can take a shower
  • 9:25am: Leave the house so I can be to on class on time
  • 9:30am: Class starts. My class is Exploring Higher Education, learning about colleges and the opportunities minority students have in college
  • 10:30-10:45am: class break, go hang out with L’Tanya
  • 10:45am: back in class where we do some debating about a topic
  • 11:45am: class ends
  • 11:45am-12:15pm: Chores. My chore is resupply, so I get houses what they need, like toiletries and cleaning supplies
    If I have Lunch KP, I go straight from class to KP. (I’m a KP Leader. I direct students on how to do their jobs, what to do, how to do it, and we set up lunch.)
  • 12:30pm: Eat lunch (If I have Lunch KP I’ll go back into the kitchen, otherwise I will or nap in the PDC Hearth)
  • 1:55pm: Take a nap, then head over to gathering
  • 2:00pm: Gathering. I make announcements because I like the sound of my own voice…
  • 2:20-2:30pm: Everyone goes to afternoon class
  • 2:30pm: Class starts. I’m taking The Why of Sports Conditioning. The first half is in the classroom, the second half is working out in the Human Performance Center
  • 4:45pm: Class is out (I might have Dinner KP)
  • On Monday or Tuesday I go to math club after class. I play the game set, the best game in the world.
  • 6:00pm: Dinner
  • 6:30pm: After dinner i’m in my house. I’ll shower, read, listen to music, make phone calls, snapchat, fb… If the house parent house is open (9:30pm) I play with my houseparents’ baby Sienna
  • 9:00pm: Clean
  • 9:30pm: House curfew
  • 10:00pm: Wing curfew
  • 12-2am: Time to sleep!